Volunteering New Zealand (VNZ) is calling for nominations to the board:

  • three general board members; and
  • one Pacific board member.

Nominations close 5pm, Friday 6 October 2017.

Applicant Information

In 2017, the VNZ Board confirmed the following policy:

  • Nominations for the VNZ Board must be made by voting members.
  • Members are defined in clause 6.1 of the constitution as volunteer centres, national and other organisations.
  • Nominations received after the notified closing date will not be accepted.

Nominations close 5pm, Friday 6 October 2017.

Ideal Applicant Description

For good governance and leadership we require a range of skills on the board and therefore we strongly recommend putting forward candidates with experience in one or more of the following areas:

  • Media:
    • Media skills, relationships with media
  • Business Partnerships:
    • Sponsorship/partnership negotiation skills, alliances with the business community/corporate sponsors
  • Government Connections:
    • Relationships with central government
  • Marketing:
    • Knowledge of promotion and marketing strategies


Nominees must be nominated by a VNZ member organisation, and must submit:

  • this Board Nomination Form and
  • a one-page summary of the skills and experience that they will bring to the Board, and any other relevant information.

Nominees are also requested to read the following VNZ Governance documents:

Vacancy Information

In 2017, there are four positions available for election.

  • Prof Karen Smith (Chair) is stepping down due after fulfilling her 2nd terms of three years on the Board of Volunteering New Zealand.
  • Helga Wientjes (Vice Chair) is seeking re-election for her 2nd three year term.
  • Alison Marshall is seeking re-election for her 2nd three year term.
  • Cathy Aiavao (Pacific representative) was co-opted during the 2016 year and is seeking election for her 1st three year term.

Remaining Board Members within terms are:

  • Corrine Coombe, appointed in 2015 (1 year remaining in 1st term)
  • Brayden Smith, appointed in 2016 (2 years remaining in 1st term)
  • Wendy Rapana, appointed in 2016 (2 years remaining in 1st term)
  • Tania Jones, appointed in 2016 (2 years remaining in 1st term)


VNZ Members will be informed of all nominees for election on Monday, 9 October 2017.


Confirmation of the successful candidates will be made at the AGM on Monday, 30 October 2017 in Auckland.


Nominees, please submit your scanned board nomination form and one-page skills and experience summary by 5pm, Friday 6 October 2017 to:

Ross Patel
Governance Advisor
Volunteering New Zealand